Maryton, parish, alias Old Montrose

Grid reference

NO 683 560 (accurate position)

Six-figure easting & northing

368300 756000





Nearby places

St Mary's Well, Maryton (0 miles)

St Mary's Church, Maryton (Old Montrose) (0 miles)

Maryton, settlement Maryton (0.22 miles)

Craig, parish (aka Inchbrayock) (1.67 miles)

St Braoch's Church, Inchbraoch/Craig, Montrose (1.67 miles)

Object Classification

Parish (extant in 1975)


NGR for Kirk built in 1791 on or near the site of its predecessor (NMRS).

Relationships with other parishes

Contains Dysart, former parish, Lunan (formerly)

Parish details

Maryton formerly Old Montrose

Parish TLA




Medieval diocese


Parish notes

Originally known as Old Montrose, the church was granted to Arbroath abbey on its foundation by William I 1178. See Cowan 1967, 143-4, for which see for the controversy between Arbroath & bp. of Brechin re this church and others, resolved in 1248, when the bp. renounced all right in this and another 5 churches. However, the controversy rumbled on, till in 1304 Bp. William of St Andrews, as arbitrator, decided that Maryton & Catterline should belong to the bps. of Brechin, while those of Dunnichen, Kingoldrum, Monikie and Panbride should pertain to Arbroath (Arb. Lib. i no.244; RS 544, 93v). The suits were renewed in 1461, 1467 and 1517 when the bishop of Brechin attempted once more to regain all the churches, but the agreement of 1304 appears to have been maintained (e.g. Arb. Lib. ii 135-6, 543-4; RMS vi no.2075). The estate of Dysart, along with parts of the estate of Dunninald, was transferred from Maryton MYN to Lunan LUN in 1891. See Shennan 1892, 196 for details.